UNIVERSITY SENATE

ANNUAL COMMITTEE REPORT 2020-21

Committee Name: Curriculum

Number of meetings held this year: Fall 2020: seven; Spring 2021: ten.

Committee Chair: Marci Carrasquillo

Committee Members: Ozge Uygur, Phil Lewis, Gina Audio, Dan Strasser, Jiyeon Lee (Fall), Lisa Vernon-Dotson (Fall), James Coaxum (Spring), Alicia Drelick (Spring), Will Riddell, Ravi Ramachandran, Kate Slater, Maria Rosado, Leslie Elkins, Adam Kolek, Nancy Tinkham, Shari Willis, Kevin Keenan, Eli Moore, Carmen McDonald, David Vaccaro, Jennifer Matthews, Joel Rudin.

Purpose of/Charge to Committee: "Reviews proposals for title and credit changes, minors, concentrations, major programs, courses, certifications, reorganization of academic/department offerings, and new or revised University-wide curricular patterns; reviews proposals to create, dissolve, or significantly reconstitute academic departments or colleges; forwards recommendations to the Senate and then to the executive vice president/provost."

Summary of Activities this Year: As of this writing the SCC received 287 proposals. (This number does not reflect the full AY 2020-2021 proposal total; completed proposal submissions that are still under review by department, dean, and college approvers have not been included.) The committee held seventeen e-hearings to review 68 major proposals (quasi-curricular, new degree/program, and

SUGGESTIONS & RECOMMENDATIONS

Recommendations: Currently one college-level curriculum committee reviews proposals for the College of Science and Mathematics, the School of Earth and Environment, and the School of Health Professions. Since SHP is about to separate from CSM, the SCC recommends a new/second college-level committee be created to review SHP curriculum proposals. This restructuring will make the workload more manageable (the number of proposals SHP produces in an average year is roughly on par with the number CSM and SEE produce together) and, in turn, should facilitate more comprehensive reviews of proposals prior to their submission to the Senate.