University Senate Meeting Minutes December 1, 2003 Student Center 221

Senators in Attendance: Herb Appelson, David Applebaum, Bryan Appleby-Wineberg, Lorin Arnold, Greg Biren, Lori Block, Carl Calliari, Bruce Caswell, Julia Chang, Jay Chaskes, Eric Constans, Steve Crites, Joanne Damminger, Gini Doolittle, Tom Fusco, John Gallagher, Kathy Ganske, Dorie Gilchrist, Jim Haugh, Gabriela Hristescu, Karlton Hughes, Olcay Ilicasu, Martin Itzkowitz, Frances Johnson, David Klassen, Lee Kress, Kristyn Kuhlman, Denyse Lemaire, Phillip Lewis, Mary Marino, Mark Matalucci, Jeff Maxson, Robin McBee, Stuart McGee, Ellen Miller, Janet Moss, Pat Mosto, Bela Mukhoti, James Newell, Terry O'Brien, Joe Orlins, Julie Peterson, Anne Phillips, Robi Polikar, Charles Schultz, Karen Siefring, Edward Smith, Sonia Spencer, Skeff Thomas, Sandy Tweedie, Cindy Vitto, Barbara Williams, Faye Zhu

Not in Attendance – Represented by Alternate: Jim Abbott represented by Mary Gallant, Janet Lindman represented by Lee Talley

Not in Attendance:

consensus was that the grading designations should remain as pass/no credit; however, there was interest in the possibility of raising the "pass" grade from D to a C-.

(3) The committee proposed having the pass/no credit status be established between student and registrar before the end of the drop/add period, with no notification to the faculty member required. Although consensus was generally favorable, questions

There is also concern about SBR's and sabbatical leave being separate issues when making a recommendation. Those on chronological year sabbatical are disallowed, for two years, to apply for an SBR. Those on regular academic year sabbaticals who want to secure external funding are frequently informed that they cannot apply for an SBR, in order to ensure that some individuals are not receiving too much funding. In the past faculty were able to combine an SBR, Career Development, and sabbatical leave, making it financially possible to conduct a meaningful project. The current system of creating categories does not reflect the reality of gaining external funding to make a project financially possible. It is unclear whether the Sabbatical Leave Agreement stipulates that faculty on sabbatical leave are not eligible to apply for an SBR.

Sandy reminded the Senate that the University Budget and Planning Committee is strictly a recommending body. A particular concern was that SBR applications are due, and so the President asked the committee to designate priorities so that he could bring the committee's recommendations to the table during his meeting with the Provost.

Chairs Council: Pat Mosto

Creating a Chairs Council as an All-University Committee will require amending the Senate's bylaws. In order to initiate that process, Pat Mosto announced the intention to create a Chairs Council at today's meeting. The Senate will vote on this matter at its January meeting.

Pat briefly outlined the structure and purpose of the Chairs Council as an All-University Committee. (See attached document.) There would be approximately thirty-five members, with one department chair elected by the others to chair the council. Although this is a large group, they would probably meet infrequently and conduct business

- 1. Each Department Chair prepared a report on the learning outcomes assessment activity in his/her department that will have been submitted to the Dean of the College by Tuesday, Nov. 3.
- 2. Each Dean consolidated the Department reports from his/her college into a College summary report. The College summary report will have been submitted to the Provost by Tuesday, Dec. 2.
- 3. The Provost will consolidate the College summary reports into a University summary report. The University summary report will be submitted to the Middle States Steering Committee by Friday, Dec. 12.
- 4. The Periodic Report will be available for campus comment and discussion in January 2004.

The Provost explained that assessment must become an institutionally embedded process