Minutes: December 10, 2002 Bozorth Hall Auditorium

Attendance: Lorin Arnold, Joseph Bierman, Greg Biren, Lori Block, Carl Calliari, Bruce Caswell, Julie Chang, Jay Chaskes, Joe Davey, John Gallagher, Erick Guerra, Harriet Hartman, Cindi Hasit, Donna Cook, Luke Holbrook, Judy Holmes, Don Stoll, Jennifer Kay, Paul Laumakis, Terri Lehr, Denyse Lemaire, Phil Lewis, Jeff Maxson, Stuart McGee, Sandy McHenry, Eric Milou, Janet Moss, Pat Mosto, James Newell, Olusegun Ojewuyi, Joe Orlins, Anne Phillips, Nick Schmelz, Karen Siefring, Kathleen Small, Sonia Spencer, Marian Stieber, Winifred Still, Sandy Tweedie, Cindy Vitto, Hal Vogel, Paris Von Lockette, Stephanie Weidman, Barbara Williams, Abe Witonsky, Tricia Yurak, Zhu Faye

- -The list of those individuals to serve on the Master Plan Committee will be distributed by the end of this week. The first meeting of this committee will be held on Thursday, February 6, 2003.
- -The Senate officers will meet with President Farish during the winter break to set up a process and timeline to continue shared governance discussions.
- -Gini Doolittle and James Coaxum presented the Senate Executive Committee with an executive summary on the Rowan New Faculty Project. This project was conducted in order to understand the socialization experiences of new faculty into the academic profession and new faculty satisfaction with the professional climate at Rowan. The Senate officers will be meeting with Frances Johnson, Director of the Faculty Center, to see in what ways the Senate can assist in improving the climate for new faculty.

 -The Senate officers met with the Provost and Edie Rusch to look into the possibility
- -The Senate officers met with the Provost and Edie Rusch to look into the possibility of sending out a survey to faculty and professional staff in an effort to find out if they

Unfinished Business:

- -Donna Cook reported that the issue of transfer students is an ongoing problem. Many are not prepared when they enter Rowan, and the problems associated with transfers experiencing academic weaknesses need to be addressed.
- -It was suggested that the issue of transfer students be addressed at the upcoming Senate Executive meeting on January 21, 2003.

Motion to discuss this issue, seconded and carried.

Announcements:

- -Reminder that residence halls will be open through the final exam period; therefore, there is no need to reschedule student exams for residents.
- -Final grades should be turned into the Registrar by January 6, 2003. Faculty members who cannot deliver their grades personally should mail them by priority or overnight mail.
- -A reminder of the President's holiday open house on December 15, from 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM.
- -Faculty are encouraged to take advantage of the following:
- *SCT-Banner information system preview on December 12 & 13
- *Everyone has been Faddoma (00) 62 T4v(00) 0316 esideght Faorion sd to 5.5 (s).6 (e) 5.5 (d) d.4 (nc) 145.5 (nc)

Professional staff

Dorie Gilchrist, Nick Schmelz, Kathie Small

via Senate:

Faculty via AFT: David Applebaum, Harriet Hartman, Phil Lewis, Sandy McHenry, Sandy

Tweedie

Faculty via Senate: Luke Holbrook, Jennie Kay, Paul Laumakis, Janet Moss, Anne Phillips,

Cindy Vitto

Chairs via Chairs

Bruce Caswell, Jay Chaskes, Cindi Hasit, Pat Mosto, Sonia Spencer, Ed

Council:

Streb

Deans via Deans Council:

Eric Clark, Diane Dorland, Don Gephardt, Jay Harper, Jay Kuder, Marilyn

Martin, Ted Schoen, Carol Sharp, George Thottam

Cabinet via

Cabinet:

President Farish, Drew Calandrella, Joe Cardona, Bob D'Augustine, John

Finan, Tom Gallia, Helen Giles-Gee, Phil Tumminia

Campus Master Plan Comm:

Christy Faison and Joe Orlins, Co-Chairs

Faculty/Coach (14): Nick DiObilda (Education), Bob Fleming (Business), Richard Fopeano

(Education), Cindi Hasit (Education), John Hasse (Liberal Arts and Sciences), Luke Holbrook (Liberal Arts and Sciences), Tony Lisa

(Athletics) Andrea Lobo (Liberal Arts and Sciences), Pat Mosto (Liberal

Arts and Sciences), Joe Orlins (Engineering), Mark Showers (Engineering), Skeffington Thomas (Art), Sanford Tweedy (Communication), Cindy Vitto (Liberal Arts and Sciences)

Professional Staff

Jim Anderson, Pat Quigley, Eileen Stutzbach

(3):

(12):

Managers/Admin. Mary Acciani, George Brelsford, Joe Cardona, Eric Clark, Russ Seagren,

Christy Faison, Tom Gallia, Kathy Rozanski, Ted Schoen, Catherine

Wilbur,

Olivietta Williams, Ed Ziegler

Students (4): Kevin Basden, Scott Moore, Jen Holdsworth, Jennifer Swingle

Others (2): Ray Cibo (IFPTE), Dorothy Stubblebine (Alumni)