University Senate

Bozorth Auditorium March 27, 2006

In Attendance: Herb Appelson, David Applebaum, Joe Bierman, Greg Biren, Lori Block, Luis Brunstein, Larry Butler, Bruce Caswell, Joe Coulombe, Kevin Dahm, Roberta DiHoff, Carol Eigenbrot, Robert Fleming, John Gallagher, Kathy Ganske, Dorie Gilchrist, John Hasse, Vasil Hnatyshin, Elisabeth Hostetter, Cristina Iftode, Ihsan Isik, Candace Kelley, David Klassen, Lee Kress, Phillip Lewis, Yuhui Li, Brenda Marlin, Yusuf Mehta, Ellen Miller, Eric Milou, Bob Newland, Anne Phillips, Robi Polikar, Tanya Santangelo, Dan Schowalter, Karen Siefring, Kathleen Small, Edward Smith, Rob Sterner, Don Stoll, Pat Alexy-Stoll, Eileen Stutzbach, Maria Sudeck, SusanTaber, Sanford Tweedie, Mary Beth Walpole, Michael Weiss, Cathy Yang, Tricia Yurak, Hong Zhang

Not in Attendance/Represented by Alternate: Karen Heinz represented by Marlena Herman, Judy Holmes represented by Connie Rosenberger, Esther Mummert repre by Connion Thomas (sabbatical) represented by Andrew Hottle

Not in Attendance: William Carrigan, Jay Chaskes, Richard Earl, Frances Johnson, Christopher Lacke, Mary Marino, Mark Matalucci (student testing), John Pastin, Marian Stieber (search committee), Barbara Williams

- I. Agenda approved.
- II. Minutes of University Senate of February 27, 2005 approved.
- III. Cindy Vitto accepted an invitation to speak on the proposed constitutional changes and presented a "Retrospective Context and Purpose of the Senate Constitution Review" (summary attached). She provided a history and context to contextualize her request, as Senate President in 2003, to review the constitution. In particular there were various items that were ambiguous in light of many changes that have occurred at Rowan. In addition, during her tenure as Senate President, she spent much time attempting to form bridges between the administration and other campus constituencies, including the Senate. She wondered it there were another way to facilitate communication.

In closing, she left three recommendations: 1. Take whatever time is necessary to deliberate to make sure that revisions have true consensus. 2. As much as possible, locate in the bylaws whatever issues may require periodic reconsideration. 3. Either retain the current make-up of the Senate (faculty and professional staff only) or open it up to all constituencies, including administration.

IV. President's Report: Bruce Caswell (separate page)

The committee will be reviewing 24 faculty & professional staff candidates this semester. Candidates, Chairs, Deans, and Supervisors should have received a reminder from Bob Zazzali's office. **The deadline for materials to the Senate office is Monday, April 17th (extended from the 14th, which is Good Friday).** The committee will be meeting on Wednesday, April 19th and Thursday, April 20th; Our evaluations are due to the Provost's office by May 12th. For those who might have lost their copy of the agreement, it is located at: <u>http://www.rowan.edu/provost/downloads/TRMemAgree0506.doc</u>

- E. Technological Resources Committee: Vasil Hnatyshin (See attached report)
- F. Student Relations: Lori A. Block (report separate page)
- G. Promotion, Sanford Tweedie (no report)
- H. Curriculum, Eric Milou : (Report accepted as amended see separate page)
- I. Academic Policies and Procedures: Susan Taber moved the following:

Resolution: "Basic Skills Courses will be graded as "S" to indicate Satisfactory Completion and "U" for Unsatisfactory completion." Motion carried.

J, Committee on Committees: Bruce Caswell for Frances S. Johnson

Call for committee volunteers will be in the mail soon. This year, by popular demand the call will include the charges of the committees.

- VI. New Business: These items will be referred to the Executive Committee.
 - A. Research Resolution, **Robi Polikar**
 - B. Campus Aesthetics and Planning Resolution, Skeffington Thomas
 - C. Intercollegiate Athletics Bylaw Change, Chris Lacke
- VII. Motion to adjourn approved.